anxiety · depression · self image

BDD

Image result for body dysmorphic disorder


Body dysmorphic disorder (BDD) is an anxiety disorder that causes a person to have a distorted view of how they look and to spend a lot of time worrying about their appearance.

This disorder many could possibly relate to, as even I myself thought it just meant that you were unhappy with the way you looked. Maybe focusing on one part in-particular such as your weight, or maybe a scar, maybe even your smile. These thoughts and feelings can be fleeting though and change depending on mood leaving them to come and go.

However, for someone with BDD, the thoughts are very distressing, do not go away and have a significant impact on daily life. The person believes they are ugly or defective and that other people perceive them in this way, despite reassurances from others about their appearance. This disorder is as common in men as well as women.

bdd-ocd-action-2014-1-10-638

You might be given a diagnosis of BDD if you:

  • experience obsessive worries about one or more perceived flaws in your physical appearance; the flaw cannot be seen by others or appears very slight
  • develop compulsive behaviours and routines, such as excessive use of mirrors or picking your skin, to deal with the worries you have about the way you look

BDD may also cause other problems such as:

  • feelings of shame, guilt or loneliness
  • isolating yourself to avoid situations that cause you anxiety or discomfort
  • depression or anxiety
  • misuse of alcohol or other drugs
  • feeling you need unnecessary medical procedures, such as cosmetic surgery
  • eating disorders
  • self-harm
  • suicidal thoughts

enhanced-6406-1398444586-7

Read more on BDD here.

****

A poem I wrote on beauty…

Every part of me was meant to be.

Perfectly put together.

I may not be the easiest beauty to admire,

but look a little closer and how could you fault?

For even though the world has scarred and broken me,

its made me more beautifully and uniquely me.

I wont lie by saying I don’t wish to change my appearance daily,

but like a diamond it can take years to form real timeless beauty.

So hear I stand with years gone by,

chips and scratches have changed and shaped me,

Now who am I to say I’m not beautiful?

 

****

Image result for body dysmorphia photography

2 thoughts on “BDD

  1. Hi there, I just wanted to say I really appreciate the help on getting this made more public. Not many people understand and They think we are all just vain or spoilt. Check out my blog if you get a second. Freckles.

    Like

Leave a comment